AHIMA, AHCA Partner to Train Skilled Nursing Facilities in ICD-10 Coding to Prepare for New Patient Driven Payment Model

medical coding 3

The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) has announced a collaboration with the American Health Care Association (AHCA) to provide in-depth coding and clinical documentation improvement (CDI) training programs. The goal of the collaboration is to help professionals in skilled nursing facilities (SNF) prepare for the upcoming payment reimbursement change.

New, Value-based Patient Driven Payment Model (PDPM) 

Beginning October 1, 2019, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) will change the reimbursement model for SNFs to a new, value-based Patient Driven Payment Model (PDPM) that will require CDI skillsets and knowledge of ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes in order to accurately support the qualifying stay and demonstrate the need for care and treatment best suited for each patient.

Coding and CDI Education Courses Overview

As part of the collaboration, AHCA enlisted AHIMA to help develop in-depth coding and CDI education courses to help prepare SNF providers for the major payment overhaul. The courses include two options: the first provides webinars for coding in ICD-10-CM and requirements in CDI case studies and concludes with a 50-question assessment. The second option is a shorter course for non-coders that includes a webinar with a high-level review and basic information on ICD-10-CM coding guidelines to provide an introduction to the PDPM reimbursement model. Both courses offer AHIMA CEUs and CNE contact hours*. In addition, the non-coder course offers NAB continuing education credits.

Benefits for SNFs

CDI is at the core of every patient encounter and through this collaboration, AHIMA and AHCA will help SNFs understand ICD-10-CM guidelines for coding and reporting and how to apply the guidelines to coding for the PDPM Medicare reimbursement. The courses will also help SNFs assess coding and diagnostic perspectives when identifying high-quality clinical documentation and classify SNFs into appropriate clinical categories as defined by the PDPM.

“ICD-10 is a driving force behind the new PDPM payment system for skilled nursing care,” said Jennifer Shimer, AHCA/NCAL COO and Senior Vice President, Member Services. “AHCA partnered with AHIMA to develop the best ICD-10 curriculum possible to prepare our members for this massive Medicare payment change.”


Leave a reply